Welcome to the First Day of Summer

Cabbage

What are your summer traditions?  Do you travel?  Are you outside more – swimming, lounging, working out, cycling or hiking?

A few of mine are hiking, now that I’m in Austin, I’ve been able to hike great places close to where I live.  There are some magnificent hikes in the hill country, west of the city.

Swimming.  I’m planning a trip to Barton Springs tomorrow – I’ll let you know how great it is, that is if my memories from college serve me well – I should have a fantastic day.  But that’s for a future blog.

However, my daily habit is eating great vegetables.  Summer is the season for eating veg., jewels straight from the garden are nature’s delightful bounty; fantastic to eat raw, stir-fried, juiced or in smoothies.  How do you like to eat your veggies?

Lately, I’ve gotten into to a eating a combination of:

  1. 2-3 C shredded Napa cabbage
  2. 1 1/2 C.  shredded red cabbage
  3. 10-12 sliced grape tomatoes
  4. 2 minced green onions
  5. 1-2 Tbs. minced cilantro
  6. Dressed with 1/3 C olive oil, 2 Tbs. fresh lime juice, salt and pepper to taste

Leave in the fridge for at least an hour.

Enjoy this mixture of nature’s goodness that provide us vitamins, minerals, phytonutrients, and fiber.

Let me know your summer traditions.  Oh yeah, and sitting by the pool with a glass of wine is still a favorite.

Cilantro

Leave a Reply

